Moar Lace please

Photography & Gothic Lolita Fashion

Lolita Timeline

on January 5, 2011

There has been a lot of talk about old-school lolita, and that brought back a lot of memories.

It brought to mind the lolita timeline that I put together for one of egl’s theme posts, I’ve since updated it to include 2010 as well.

To be honest, looking at my photos from 2002-2006, I’m actually glad that the fashion has evolved and encompassed so many subgenres, I think I look better now, than in my ‘old-school’ lolita.

Clothes have nicer cuts and fit better, and materials are more varied and tend to be of nicer quality. (no more oodles of raschel lace all over with ribbons criss-crossing haphazardly). There’s so much choice available, and there’s a huge community to share our love of loli with. Perhaps not all of us see eye to eye, but that’s what comes from diversity, which also brings with it creative and exciting new viewpoints.

In summary, while I do have wonderful memories, and have favourites from the old-school genre, I’m also glad that the fashion has evolved and progressed.

My Loli Timeline

Leave a Reply

