Moar Lace please

Photography & Gothic Lolita Fashion

Wardrobe Post~ 2011 edition

on January 17, 2011

The last time I did this was in 2009, where the EGL theme was Wardrobes, here

Time has passed so quickly, and its now 2011, and the January theme is again “Wardrobes”. I’ve seen so many inspiring, beautiful examples both then and now, and I was especially in love with redtonic, go_slowly, little_circe, Fire, nokturnalclash, jullius, duplica_chan, kirapop…. and so many more ❤

Anyway, go_slowly showed us her fantastic wardrobe, and made a request for me to post my wardrobe – I certainly don’t think its as unusual or special as hers, but I’m pleased to oblige…. That is until I realized how much work it entailed XD

I apologize in advance for the shoddy photography and the clothes just dumped together, it really did take quite a bit of effort to get everything down and I don’t have a wide enough space with natural light to photograph -> so the lighting was pretty bad since I have both warm and cool lights in the same room 😦

I’ve been into rori since 2002, when a little group of girls in the sunny island of Singapore banded together for the love of gothic lolita fashion – 9years now! My wardrobe has been constantly evolving, and I do keep pieces that have special meaning for me, such as my first brand dress (Maxicmam cherry dress that I fell in love with when I saw it in the GLB, etc). My style has definitely evolved and branched out since then:)

Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

On to the JSK/OPs first, I decided to go by brand first, then sorted by color scheme. Let’s start with my Angelic Pretty ❤ Looking back at 2009’s post, I’ve gotten much more into AP and less of BtSSB in the last 2 years, generally because BtSSB’s sizing is not friendly to me, its generally too long and too large -> and the sizes seem to be getting bigger ;_; I’m also captivated by the colorful, and often sparkly prints that AP has been known for.

RedxWhite
I really love the contrast of red against white, and the fact that the prints are of strawberries -> I’m sunk!
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011
Pink
From Left: AP Dreaming Macaron / Yumemiru JSK, AP Cherry Berry Bunny OP
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Mint
From Left: AP Lady Rose JSK, AP Little Bear’s Cafe JSK
Mint and Pink is really one of my favourite color combinations of all time, and while the Lady Rose is a cooler, more aqua-toned green, the bright apple green of the Little’s Bear Cafe i so happy to look at. ❤
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Lavender
From Left: AP Sugary Carnival OP, AP Milky Planet JSK
What can I say? I love lavender, and while some say that SC & MP are very similiar, you can see from the photo that they are really different in color and in feel. SC is much more sedate and muted, yet still retaining that sweetness. MP is brighter and more colorful, with sparkles – definitely more deco-loli-able!
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011
Blue
From Left: AP Star Night Theatre OP, AP Marine Frill JSK
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Black
From Left: AP Star Night Theatre JSK, AP Sweet Jam
I love the SNT print so very much that I original bought it in 4 colorways, however I’ve since sold the pink and red since I’ve never worn them. Its so colorful and dramatic<3
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Red
Probably the Queen of my Wardrobe and my heart, my AP Puppet Circus JSK. It took me so long to find and get it, and it never fails to make my heart skip a beat!
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

And if that was the Queen, this is the Princess of my rori wardrobe, my BtSSB Mariage Poupet OP, which was one of my wedding dresses – I wore it for our pre-wedding photoshoot
Baby the Stars Shine Bright
Mariage Poupet
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Looking at my wardrobe now, you’d never know that I used to be a Shirololi – I used to think prints were ‘too much’ in 2002 when I first got into the fashion (yes, I’ve been around for so long!) Here are the dresses that echo my past!
White
From Left: Rose Candle JSK, Hawase Doll OP, Karami 3-tier JSK
I remember when Shimotsuma Monogatari came out, and I proudly wore my Hawase, Maxi-pad headdress and An*ten*na RHS afterwards<3
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Alice and the Pirates~ the part of BtSSB that still fits me<3
I really love their prints, they keep coming out with sheer magic – Midsummer Night’s Dream, Queen’s Coach, Masquerade Theater, Cinderella Jewelry etc
From Left: AATP OP (unknown name), AATP Miranda JSK in Kinari
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

AATP Queen’s Coach JSK II in navy ~ how I was so afraid that I wouldn’t get this one! All the colorways were stunning, but I’d never ever wanted a navy print until I saw this :3
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

And now, we move to another brand that I love, Mary Magdalene.
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011
This one isn’t with me right now, but I should be getting it back real soon ❤
MM

Victorian Maiden
This JSK was purchased by blue_meddy of teatrayskies for me on one of her trips, and I absolutely love it! Its currently being borrowed by a friend, but its one of my treasured pieces as well, so I can’t miss it out from this post<3
VM

And now for a brand that I’ve started getting into:
Innocent World
From Left: Ishtar JSK, Luckypack JSK, Beatrice JSK
I’m probably going to sell the 2 black JSKs as they aren’t my type, but came in the IW 2011 Winter LP. The Beatrice JSK however, is a keeper, I really really love the colorway and print.
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Emily Temple Cute “Emikyu” / ETC
I love their clothes!
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Lief / Mew (Korean indies brand) & Maxicmam
From Left: Mew Strawberry Cream, Maxicmam Cherry OP
The Maxicman cherry OP has special significance for me, as it was my first ‘brand’ dress, and I first fell in love with it in the GLB, and was lucky enough to find it in the stores in Japan.
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Offbrand~ commissioned JSKs
The dress in the middle was purchased on the egl_comm_sales, but the 2 dresses at the side were commissioned way back in 2003? when brand was unthinkable and unreachable.
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Last, but not least, the dark ladies of my collection. ❤ I will admit that I used to be a huge fan of Mana when he was part of the Jrock group Malice Mizer! MMM = crack.
Moi-Meme-Moitie & Pina Sweet Collection
From Left: MMM Chandelier JSK, Pina Sweet OP, MMM Irongate OP
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Ok, now that I’ve run out of dresses, here are the skirts! Let’s go by brand again.
Angelic Pretty

From Left, top row: AP Rose Toilette, AP Milky Planet, AP Melty Chocolate, AP Whip Magic
From Left, bottom row: AP Lovely Heart, AP Sweet Story, AP Angel Pony Applique
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

And my AP Milky Berry which isn’t with me right now
milkyberry

And now for BtSSB/AATP
The red skirt in the top row was my Valentine’s Day present from my (then bf, now hubby) when he was stationed in Kaohsiung for work a few years ago. While wandering the area, he came across a lolita shop, and peering into the window, felt that the clothes looked really good (yes, he was supportive and I did wear loli/show him pictures of my dream dresses etc). He went in, and found out that the shop was Baby the Stars Shine Bright (which was my favourite brand!), and he excitedly made a long-distance call just to let me know that BtSSB was in Taiwan<3 He also surprised me with this skirt for Vday – he picked it out all by himself ❤ ❤ ❤ It is very special to me, if only I knew the name.
From Left, top row: BtSSB ?, BtSSB ?
From Left, bottom row: BtSSB Cinderella, BtSSB Cherry Bouquet, AATP Midsummer Night’s Dream
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

And now for Juliette et Justine, Victorian Maiden & Innocent World
From Left: JetJ Bisque Doll, VM Floral, IW Puppies
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

And lastly for the skirts, the grand ladies
Moi-Meme-Moitie ❤
From Left: MMM Divine Cross, MMM Irongate, MMM Irongate long
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Now for tops! For this post’s purposes, I tried to photograph the ‘loli-est’ stuff and , I do like to mix and match offbrand items in my daily wear.

I’ve categorized them by color scheme for this:
White/Cream
From Left, top row: BtSSB, Offbrand, Mille Fleurs
From Left, bottom row: MMM, MMM, IW
I’ve included the offbrand blouse as it is probably one of the most beautiful things that I own, with its soft chiffon sleeves and delicate beading<3
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Pink
All Angelic Pretty
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Special Mention:

These two blouses are offbrand, but I’ve found them super useful and love using them in loli coordinates
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Black
From Left, top row: Offbrand, Mille Fleurs, Angelic Pretty
From Left, bottom row: MMM, MMM, offbrand
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

And something that some people don’t think belongs in rori, but I absolutely adore, and try to incorporate whenever I can. Corsets!!!!<3 ❤ ❤
I have a few more, but these are my favourite ones. The 2 black ones are Excentrique, and the long one in the centre is Kikirara Shoten:3
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

And now for more casual stuff that I like to incorporate in my loli style
Cute tees
Most of them are offbrand, except for the BtSSB ones on the top left, and some naoto frill
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

And then for outerwear.
Cutsew Cardigans and Boleros
From Left, top row: AP Parka, BtSSB Bunny Hoody, AP Bolero
From Left, bottom row: BtSSB Crochet Cardi, HeartE Cat Parka, AATP Black Bolero, Cream Mary Magdalene Bolero
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

More formal stuff now, boleros & jackets
From Left, top row: VM,VM
From Left, bottom row: VM, Atelier Boz
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Capelets
I love them because the fuzziness adds *cute points* to an outfit. All offbrand
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

And while its entirely offbrand, these cardigans are an essential part of my everyday (and loli) wardrobe
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

My only brand coat – Innocent World LP coat
I got this in the 2010 lucky pack, however I do own several winter coats for travelling, and we don’t have seasons here in Singapore (well only rainy or sunny), with the average temperature hovering around 27-34 degree celcius – so I really don’t need a heavy winter coat ;_; I’ll probably have to sell this too.
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

And since we’re done with the clothes, let’s go to Accessories – this is where the fun really starts, since the right accessories can really ‘make’ the look. I like to pretend that my room is a loli ‘store’, and try to display my things in that manner.
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Hair Accessories
I am absolutely in love with bonnets, as much as I adore corsets. Triplefortune makes the most amazing headwear, and I’m a huge fan.

This is my box of headbows
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

More Accessories
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

I keep some of the maxipads, floppy bonnets and other headbows in here
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

And now, my Triplefortune stuff. I’m sooooo in love with bonnets in general, and particularly those by 3f. The red bonnet is a ‘houseguest’ courtesy of blue-meddy (so it won’t be ‘lonely’ LOL)
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Here are my furry accessories, mostly BtSSB usakumyas, bunny bags, bunny muffler and my offband sheeppppp bag<3
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Assorted Jewelry
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

I’ve also been crazy about lace toppers or wristlets for years. I love them – I think AP makes the best due to the varied colors.
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

And of course, how could we not talk about footwear? I love OTK socks, as well as stockings – not just for loli, but also everyday wear. (even if its humid and hot in Singapore all year round!)

My socks drawers are arranged by color
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Stockings – like go_slowly, I’m super in love with all kinds of stockings, but her collection is exponentially more awesome! I’m so envious:D You can see that I’m very into lace and simple patterned stockings.
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Bags
After seeing the other wardrobe posts, I think you’ll be bored by my bags… I tend to use a lot of offbrand stuff, so I just picked the more ‘loli’ ones for this photo
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

Shoes!
While I do wear them (and others) for daily wear, these are my go-tos for Loli.
Most of them are offbrand, only a pair of BtSSB white rose shoes, lavender Swimmer engineer boots, and my treasured An*ten*na white RHS -> which are totally falling apart, but I love them so.
Rori Wardrobe Jan 2011

And finally, some things that I’m waiting for! ❤
Lief ‘s Sacred Night JSK in White
01

ETC Duckies Skirt in Pink
ETC Duckies Skirt
Innocent World Forest Harvest Festival Skirt
DSCF2966

Some Shirley Temple stuff<3
Waiting for!!!!Waiting for!!!!Waiting for!!!!

Ok we’re all done! I hope you enjoyed this post, and I must thank everyone AGAIN for their wonderful wardrobe posts. I really love peeking into other people’s wardrobes and I’m honored that they share.^_^

Cheers,
Steph

9 responses to “Wardrobe Post~ 2011 edition

  1. Caro says:

    Your wardrobe T_T I saw it posted to EGL and thought “I’ll come back to that when I think I have the emotional stability to handle all the types of awesome that I know are going to be in there” so I checked my blog list, and just randomly clicked the new ones and there this was XD Seriously, your closet is drop dead gorgeous.

  2. Jasmine says:

    *hearts* That picture of all the bonnets is so awesome. :3

  3. narfzz says:

    What a beautiful collection! I’m soooo jelly. *u* You got the black IW winter jacket I realllllly wanted from the LP, I ended up getting the coral color. If you *do* sell it, please tell me! I’ll definitely stalk the comm sales since you’ll probably get tons of comments about your fabulous collection. xD

  4. Mariana says:

    Man, that starry night theatre in black is like my biggest dream XD i’ve been looking for it for so so so long XD

    your closet is super super amazing ! such a grea collection ! congrats on putting all of that together * ^* you’re awsome ❤ !!

Leave a Reply

